History of establishment and development

of the constitutional oversight

in the Kyrgyz Republic

 

In the history of Kyrgyzstan, for the first time the institute of Constitutional Control – the Constitutional Supervision Committee of the Kyrgyz SSR was established by the law of the Kyrgyz SSR dated September 23, 1989 “On Changes and Amendments to the Constitution (the Fundamental law) of the Kyrgyz SSR”.

The main objectives of the Constitutional Supervision Committee were defined: ensuring compliance of acts of state bodies and public organizations with the Constitution of the Kyrgyz SSR, protection of constitutional rights and freedoms of the individual, the rights of peoples living on the territory of the Kyrgyz SSR, the democratic foundations of Soviet society.

The Constitutional Supervision Committee was elected by the Supreme Soviet of the Kyrgyz SSR for the term of 10 years among the specialists in politics and law and composed of the President, Vise-President and seven members.

The procedure for the activities of the Committee for Constitutional Supervision was specified by the laws of the Kyrgyz SSR “On Changes and Amendments to the Constitution (the Fundamental law) of the Kyrgyz SSR” dated April 12, 1990 and “On Constitutional Supervision in the Kyrgyz SSR”.

In order to strengthen the guarantees of constitutional legality, in accordance with the law of the Kyrgyz SSR “On the Reorganization of the System of State Authorities and Administration in the Kyrgyz SSR and the Introduction of Changes and Amendments to the Constitution (the Fundamental law) of the Kyrgyz SSR” dated December 14, 1990, the Committee for Constitutional Supervision was abolished and the Constitutional Court of the Kyrgyz SSR, one of the first among the republics of the SSR, was formed.

With the proclamation of the sovereignty of Kyrgyzstan in August 1991 and the adoption of a new Constitution on May 5, 1993, the Constitutional Court of the Kyrgyz Republic was established as the highest body of judicial authority for the protection of the Constitution.

The organization, competence and procedure for the activities of the Constitutional Court were provided for by the Constitution, the laws “On the Constitutional Court of the Kyrgyz Republic” and “On the Constitutional Court Proceedings of the Kyrgyz Republic”.

The President of the Constitutional Court, his deputy and seven judges of the Constitutional Court were elected for a period of fifteen years by the Jogorku Kenesh on the proposal of the President.

Changes in the socio-political and legal spheres of the country led to the reorganization of the system of public authorities, including the termination of the activities of the Constitutional Court on April 7, 2010 until a special decision of the state was made.

The Constitution of June 27, 2010 established the Constitutional Chamber of the Supreme Court of the Kyrgyz Republic.

The Constitutional Chamber is determined as a highest judicial body, which independently performs the constitutional oversight by way of constitutional legal proceeding, and the successor of the Constitutional Court of the Kyrgyz Republic in accordance with the Constitutional law “On the Constitutional Chamber of the Supreme Court of the Kyrgyz Republic”.

As a result of the referendum (popular vote), on April 11, 2021, a new version of the Constitution was adopted, it is enacted by the Law of the Kyrgyz Republic of May 5, 2021. According to the new Constitution, the Constitutional Court of the Kyrgyz Republic was established.

The Constitutional Court is the successor of the Constitutional Chamber of the Supreme Court of the Kyrgyz Republic and is the highest body of judicial authority, which performs the constitutional oversight by way of constitutional legal proceeding, the court is independent of any other public authority and is subject only to the Constitution of the Kyrgyz Republic, according to the Constitutional law “On the Constitutional Court of the Kyrgyz Republic”.

The Constitutional Court consists of nine judges: President, Vise-President and seven judges of the Constitutional Court.

Judges of the Constitutional court are elected by at least a half of voices from total number of deputies of Jogorku Kenesh of the Kyrgyz Republic before age achievement of limit.

The Сhairman of the Constitutional court is appointed the President according to the offer of Judicial council and with the consent of at least a half of voices from total number of deputies of Jogorku Kenesh from among judges of the Constitutional court for a period of 5 years.

The Vice-Chairman of the Constitutional court is appointed the President on representation of the Сhairman of the Constitutional court for a period of 5 years.

Меню навигации+

История становления и развития органа конституционного контроля в Кыргызской Республике

 

В истории Кыргызстана, впервые институт конституционного контроля —  Комитет конституционного надзора Киргизской ССР был учрежден Законом Киргизской ССР «Об изменениях и дополнениях Конституции (Основного Закона) Киргизской ССР» от 23 сентября 1989 года.

 

Основными целями Комитета конституционного надзора были определены: обеспечение соответствия актов государственных органов и общественных организаций Конституции Киргизской ССР, охраны конституционных прав и свобод личности, прав народов, проживающих на территории Киргизской ССР, демократических основ советского общества.

 

Комитет конституционного надзора избирался Верховным Советом Киргизской ССР сроком на десять лет из числа специалистов в области политики и права в составе Председателя, заместителя Председателя и 7 членов Комитета.

 

Порядок деятельности Комитета конституционного надзора был конкретизирован законами Киргизской ССР «О внесении изменений и дополнений в Конституцию (Основной закон) Киргизской ССР» от 12 апреля 1990 года и «О конституционном надзоре в Киргизской ССР».

 

В целях усиления гарантий конституционной законности, в соответствии с Законом Киргизской ССР «О реорганизации системы органов государственной власти и управления в Киргизской ССР и внесении изменений и дополнений в Конституцию (Основной Закон) Киргизской ССР» от 14 декабря 1990 года, Комитет конституционного надзора был упразднен и образован Конституционный суд Киргизской ССР, один из первых среди республик ССР.

 

С провозглашением суверенитета Кыргызстана в августе 1991 года и принятием новой Конституции от 5 мая 1993 года, Конституционный суд Кыргызской Республики был определен высшим органом судебной власти по защите Конституции.

 

Организация, компетенция и порядок деятельности Конституционного суда были предусмотрены Конституцией, законами «О Конституционном суде Кыргызской Республики» и «О конституционном судопроизводстве Кыргызской Республики».

 

Председатель Конституционного суда, его заместитель и семь судей Конституционного суда избирались сроком на пятнадцать лет Жогорку Кенешем по представлению Президента.

 

Изменения в общественно-политической, правовой сферах страны повлекли реорганизацию системы органов государственной власти, в том числе прекращение деятельности Конституционного суда 7 апреля 2010 года до особого решения государства.

 

Конституцией от 27 июня 2010 года образована Конституционная палата Верховного суда Кыргызской Республики.

 

Конституционная палата определена высшим судебным органом, самостоятельно осуществляющим конституционный контроль посредством конституционного судопроизводства, правопреемником Конституционного суда Кыргызской Республики согласно конституционному Закону «О Конституционной палате Верховного суда Кыргызской Республики».

 

В результате проведенного референдума (всенародного голосования), 11 апреля 2021 года принята новая редакция Конституции, которая введена в действие Законом Кыргызской Республики от 5 мая 2021 года. Согласно принятой Конституции, был учрежден Конституционный суд Кыргызской Республики.

 

Конституционный суд, правопреемник Конституционной палаты Верховного суда Кыргызской Республики, является высшим органом судебной власти, осуществляющим конституционный контроль посредством конституционного судопроизводства, суд независим от любой другой публичной власти и подчиняется только Конституции Кыргызской Республики, согласно конституционному Закону «О Конституционном суде Кыргызской Республики».

 

Конституционный суд состоит из девяти судей: председателя, заместителя председателя и семи судей Конституционного суда.

 

Судьи Конституционного суда избираются не менее половиной голосов от общего числа депутатов Жогорку Кенеша Кыргызской Республики, до достижения предельного возраста.

 

Председатель Конституционного суда назначается Президентом по предложению Совета судей и с согласия не менее половины голосов от общего числа депутатов Жогорку Кенеша из числа судей Конституционного суда сроком на 5 лет.

 

Заместитель председателя Конституционного суда назначается Президентом по представлению председателя Конституционного суда сроком на 5 лет.